Friday, 13 October 2017


East India 
Ganges river and the majority of Himalayan foothills, East India begins with the states of Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Orissa, which comprise the westernmost part of the region. East India also contains an area known as the eastern triangle, which is entirely distinct. This is the last gulp of land that extends beyond Bangladesh, culminating in the Naga Hills along the Burmese border. The temples, stupas, wild life parks and the snow covered summits of the Himalayas... eastern India has it all. Steeped in thousands of years of history, much of east India still remains untouched by time. It is in the east that early industrialization of India took place, due to the incredibly rich hinterland, access to river and ocean commercial transport and British investment in technology. Many of India's largest corporate houses are still based in Calcutta. Most of India's steel industry is located in Bihar and West Bengal region due to its proximity to coal/ iron ore belt here. In strange contrast are the States in the north east, only lightly touched by time and history. It is here in the dense forests the rhinos thunder, orchids beckon and birds and butterflies paint the air in brilliant shades. The tribal life goes on as always, serenely unconcerned about modern upheavals. The Andaman and Nicobar Islands present yet another vista -emerald dollops in the sapphire ocean still primeval in their pristine beauty.

States of East India

Bihar , Orissa , West Bengal , Sikkim , Assam , Meghalaya , Arunachal Pradesh , Nagaland , Manipur Mizoram , Tripura.

No comments:

Post a Comment