Friday, 13 October 2017


India at a glance :
Official NameBharat (Hindi), Republic of India (English)
CapitalNew Delhi
Population1, 027, 015, 247 (2001 Census)
Area3.3 million square kilometers
Geographical LocationLies between latitudes 8 ° 4' and 37 ° 6 ' north and longitudes 68 ° 7 ' and 97° 25' east
Coastline Length7600 km
LanguagesIndia has two National languages (Central administrative). They are English (associate official) and Hindi (in the Devanagiri script). The Indian Constitution also officially recognizes 22 regional languages.
Major ReligionsHinduism, Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, Sikhism, Jainism
PresidentSmt. Pratibha Patil
Prime MinisterDr. Manmohan Singh
National AnthemJan gana mana written by Rabindranath Tagore
National SongVande Mataram, composed in Sanskrit by Bankimchandra Chatterji
National EmblemReplica of the Lion Capital of Sarnath
National FlagHorizontal tricolor in equal proportion of deep saffron on the top, white in the middle and dark green at the bottom. In the center of the white band is a wheel in navy blue color
National AnimalTiger (Panthera tigris)
National BirdPeacock
National FlowerLotus
National TreeBanyan
National FruitMango
National CurrencyRupee (One Rupee=100 paise)
National SportHockey

No comments:

Post a Comment