Wednesday, 7 March 2018


The national anthem of India, Jana-gana-mana, was composed by the great poet Rabindranath Tagore and was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on January 24th 1950. Jana-gana-mana was first sung on 27th December, 1911 at the Calcutta Session of the Indian National Congress. The songs, Jana-gana-mana, consists of five stanzas. The first stanza constitutes the full version of the National Anthem. Playing time of the full version of the National Anthem is approximately 52 seconds. The national anthem of India is as follows-

"Jana-gana-mana-adhinaayaka, jaya he
Draavida-Utkala -Banga Vindhya-Himachala-Yamuna-Gangaa
Tava shubha naame jaage
Tava shubha ashisha maange
Gaaye tab jaya gaatha
Jana-gana-mangala-daayaka jaya he
Jaya he, jaya he, jaya he
Jaya jaya, jaya, jaya he!! "

Here is Tagore's English rendering of the stanza (Indian national anthem) - "Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people, dispenser of India's destiny. Thy name rouses the hearts of Punjab, Sindh, Gujarat and Maratha, of the Dravida and Orissa and Bengal it echoes in the hills of the Vindhyas and Himalayas, Mingles in the music of Jamuna and Ganges and is chanted by the waves of the Indian Sea. They pray for thy blessings and sing thy praise. The saving of all people waits in thy hand, thou dispenser of India's destiny victory, victory, victory, victory to thee."

No comments:

Post a Comment